The Chromatographic Society (ChromSoc) have announced the winner of the 2022 Jubilee Medal as Sebastiaan Eeltink, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Belgium. The Jubilee Medal was created in 1982 to mark the 25th anniversary of The Chromatographic Society, with the intention of recognizing up-and-coming separation scientists who have made major use of separation science in their own field or important contributions to a particular area of separations science.


Sebastiaan Eeltink was awarded the medal in recognition of his ability to apply his theoretical knowledge to the design and manufacture of highly novel technology. His laboratory focuses on the design, development, and application of modern analytics for high-resolution profiling of biomolecules, which has led to three patent applications for spatial three‑dimensional liquid chromatography and more than 100 scientific publications on which he is first or senior author.

Upon receiving the award Eeltink praised his colleagues stating: “This award is in fact a recognition for teamwork driven by many postdocs and PhD students working in my team since 2010.”

Further to his research, Eeltink also has a strong academic record and currently holds a position at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Free University of Brussels, where he teaches courses in the field of separation sciences.